29/04/21: Councillors elect Breckland Council Chairman for 2021/22

Cllr Roy Brame has been elected as Chairman of Breckland Council for 2021/22. At the Council's AGM today (29 April) Cllr Brame was presented (virtually) with the chain of office by the outgoing Chairman, Cllr Lynda Turner.

Elected to Breckland Council over seven years ago, Cllr Brame represents the Thetford Castle Ward, and has previously been Mayor of Thetford and the Norfolk Councillor for Thetford East. He will be supported in his new Chairman duties by his wife, Karen.

Cllr Brame said: "It is a real privilege to represent Breckland and I look forward to championing the entire district as a destination for tourists and residents to enjoy as well as an area where people and businesses can thrive."

It is traditional for the Chairman to support a charity during their tenure and Cllr Brame has decided to dedicate his time in office in supporting mental health charities for armed forces personnel and local young people.

Cllr Brame takes over the Chairmanship from Cllr Lynda Turner, who has served two years in light of the pandemic.

Cllr Turner commented that her time in office had been 'an absolute privilege', although the two years couldn't have been more different as Covid-19 restrictions were imposed.

"I've met so many remarkable residents over the past two years, both in person and via Zoom, from World War II veterans to church and charity leaders and from civic receptions to royal visits.

"Above all, I have been touched by the community spirit on show and the resilience shown by all during the pandemic. Residents, elected members and officers of the Council have all pulled together to look after each other and their communities. The people of Breckland should be very proud of themselves."

Cllr Mike Nairn, who represents the Bedingfeld ward, was appointed Vice Chairman.

Last updated: 30/04/2021 17:54:41