Elections in Breckland

Electoral Services are responsible for the conduct of all elections and referendums. You can only vote at elections and referendums if you are registered to vote. 

Parish council

Parish council elections are held every four years and coincide with district elections. The Breckland Council area contains 112 parishes. Most parishes have a parish council, but some smaller parishes have parish meetings. Some of the larger parishes are split into parish wards and have a town council. Refer to theTown and parish councils section for more detailed information on Breckland's parish councillors.

Breckland District Council

The District Council holds elections for all of its members (or 'councillors') every four years. Following a Local Government Boundary Review which came into effect on 7 May 2015, the district is divided into 27 electoral wards and there are 49 district councillors representing the wards. The date of ordinary elections is usually the first Thursday in May. Refer to theFind your Councillor andTown and parish councils section for more detailed information on Breckland's district councillors.

Norfolk County Council

Norfolk County Council currently has 84 councillors elected from the county to make decisions about county-wide decisions, such as education and social services. Breckland currently has 12 county councillors who serve for four years. Alist of all county councillors (opens new window)  can be found on the Norfolk County Council website.

Police and Crime Commissioner

Police and Crime Commissioner elections are held every four years. Police and Crime Commissioners are elected to make sure that local police meet the needs of the community and are accountable for how crime is tackled in their police force area.More details about the Police and Crime Commissioner for Norfolk (opens new window)  can be found on the website.

UK Parliament

Breckland District Council organises the elections for the Mid Norfolk Parliamentary Constituency. There is one Member of Parliament that represents this Constituency. Parliamentary elections are held within five years of the last general election.

Unable to find what you are looking for or have a general enquiry? Please contact us via our online form.

Last updated: 30/05/2023 12:55:42