18/05/2023: Breckland Council selects 2023/2024 Chairman

A councillor with experience of serving in the police and local government has been selected as Breckland Council's new Chairman.

Cllr Peter Wilkinson was chosen by fellow councillors at Breckland Council's Annual General Meeting today (18 May).

As Chairman of the council, Cllr Wilkinson will oversee the running of council meeting for the coming year, as well as representing the council at official events over the coming 12 months. He served as the council's Vice-Chairman in 2022/23.

Mr Wilkinson was recently re-elected as district councillor for the Nar Valley ward, as part of the local elections held at the start of May. Before entering local politics, he had a distinguished police and military background, spending time in the Norfolk constabulary before working for the Ministry of defence (MOD) supporting RAF Marham squadrons, Station Commanders and Marshals of the Royal Air Force (MRAF).

Speaking after the meeting, Cllr Wilkinson said: "I am delighted to have been elected to this position and I look forward to promoting Breckland, championing our local businesses and shining a light on our residents and fantastic communities. I will work closely with all members, regardless of their political position, to ensure everybody at Breckland Council works together for the benefit of the residents who voted for us."

Cllr Wilkinson is also an active volunteer in the community, including supporting the Breckland Youth Advisory Board (YAB) since 2010, and he says he intends to dedicate some of his time as Breckland's Chairman to promoting opportunities for young people, especially around education, training and mental health support.

Cllr Wilkinson takes over the Chairmanship from Cllr Mike Nairn, who added: "I have thoroughly enjoyed serving our residents and promoting local businesses as Chairman at Breckland Council over the last 12 months. It has been one of the most amazing experiences of my political career and a true privilege. My highlight has been meeting so many unsung heroes in our community and shining a spotlight on their amazing work and their unstinting commitment to others. I have been honoured by the support I received and wish Cllr Wilkinson my best wishes for his term in office."

Cllr Terry Jermy, who represents the Thetford Prior ward, has been appointed vice-chairman for 2023/2024, whilst Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen was elected as Leader of Breckland Council.

Last updated: 18/05/2023 15:42:45